Based on Stephen King’s book ‘THE COLORADO KID’ (which on its own is a mere 184 pages long) ‘HAVEN’ has gone on to make 5 series and being that is the first part of the fifth and final series we will look back at it through the highs and lows.

For those who are unaware ‘HAVEN’ follows FBI agent Audrey Parker (Emily Rose) who originally came to the small town of Haven to solve the murder of an ex-convict but soon discovers that the town has its own strangeness to it. The residents of the town are cursed with what is known as ‘The Troubles’ and Audrey Parker and friends must help those cursed and delve deeper into other mysteries.

Season Five Volume One picks up with the aftermath of our heroes’ victory over Haven’s ultimate villain William. After having successfully banished him into the Void, Nathan (Lucas Bryant – Sex, Love & Secrets, Beauty and the Beast) and Duke (Eric Balfour – 24, Six Feet Under) are devastated to discover that the Audrey Parker they know and love has disappeared. In her place stands Mara, the unflinchingly malevolent “original” person responsible for creating the troubles many centuries ago. Finally freed from the confines of her do-gooder husks, Mara proceeds to unleash a wave of chaos over Haven, taking things to a whole new level.

As with any series there is bound to be highs and lows and here we will share them:


Emily Rose doing double duty with her acting with the soft Audrey Parker and the wicked Mara.

Interesting new ‘troubles’ that Mara brings to Haven.

Adam Copeland (Edge, WWE wrestler) as Dwight Hendrickson breaking out and being more.

A great 2 parter episode, The Old Switcheroo part 1 and part 2, that pushes some closer and some farther away.

The arrival of CDC agent Charlotte. Who is she and what does she want?


I wouldn’t say there is any lows in the first volume of Haven series 5. The only concern is maybe that all the questions won’t be answered in the whole series but we will have to wait for volume 2 of Haven series 5 to be released to find out.

Haven Season Five Volume One airs on Syfy and arrives on UK DVD for the first time on 12 October 2015, complete with a slew of fantastic extras.


1. See No Evil
2. Speak No Evil
3. Spotlight
4. Much Ado About Mara
5. The Old Switcheroo (Part 1)
6. The Old Switcheroo (Part 2)
7. Nowhere Man
8. Exposure
9. Morbidity
10. Mortality
11. Reflections
12. Chemistry
13. Chosen


• Audio Commentaries

• “Inside Haven” Featurettes

• Haven: Origins: Witches Are Born

• Haven: Origins: Native Breaks Free

Running Time: 533 mins approx

Liked it? Take a second to support HORRORSCREAMS VIDEOVAULT on Patreon!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *