Fans of horror..especially Italian horror, will be excited to learn that the soundtrack to CANNIBAL FEROX will get a very limited release on vinyl courtesy of One Way Static Records.
Umberto Lenzi’s ‘CANNIBAL FEROX (a.k.a. Make Them Die Slowly) (Original 1981 Motion Picture Soundtrack by Roberto Donati).

Available as a deluxe colour vinyl edition on Transparent Orange vinyl, limited to 200 units (exclusive to Zavvi). This release features the original 1981 score and an additional four bonus tracks. Also included is an insert containing exclusive and extensive liner notes by Giovanni Lombardo Radice, Roberto Donati and Robert Kerman.


  • Original 1981 soundtrack + 4 bonus tracks by maestro Roberto Donati
  • Available on Transparent Orange Vinyl (limited edition #200 copies)
  • Comes with insert containing extensive & exclusive liner notes

Maestro Roberto Donati was born and raised in Italy and as a guitarist/singer he ended up forming a wide variety of bands playing a broad spectrum of musical genres like Rock, Pop, R&B and Country & Western. Many of his songs were recorded as singles on the ‘Belldisc’ label in the late sixties and seventies. With all this experience under his belt Mr. Donati then devoted himself to the composition of soundtracks. These were all recorded under the pseudonym ‘Budy’ and were often collaborations with Maria Fiamma Maglione (who sadly passed away from cancer in 2003) thus the name ‘Budy Maglione’ was born.

Working with different directors (including legendary director Umberto Lenzi) he has written music for films in various genres including Italian comedy, erotic, western & horror. Highlights include EMANUELLE e LOLITA (1978), EATEN ALIVE (1980), CANNIBAL FEROX (1981) and DAUGHTER OF THE JUNGLE (1982).

Just like his contemporaries ‘Fabio Frizzi’ and ‘Riz Ortolani’, Roberto Donati was an established player in the Italian soundtrack scene…the most fame he received was probably for his soundtrack to Umberto Lenzi’s exploitation shocker CANNIBAL FEROX (a.k.a. Make Them Die Slowly) a notorious video nasty, labelled as “The Most Violent movie ever made” that was banned or severely cut in 31 countries.

Umberto Lenzi’s 1981 CANNIBAL FEROX  is often described as one of horror filmdom’s golden grails of soundtrack albums and holds its place between other contemporary classics like CANNIBAL HOLOCAUST & THE BEYOND. Eli Roth described it as “powerful tribal, pounding stuff” and served as an inspiration when editing his movie THE GREEN INFERNO” (which is an homage to the Cannibal film genre).

Like many of the Italian cannibal films, the soundtrack is just as powerful and effective as the disturbing butchery. The use of funk guitar, bass, rock piano and synthesizer make for a fun yet still powerful sound. It’s 70s recklessness with an 80s sensibility, perfect for a film that rides the line between two decades. Surprisingly funky and light-hearted, then again: there are cues which are genuinely mean and foreboding, serving as an essential piece that makes the film a pulse-pounding inferno of death.

Track List:

Side A

01 NYC Main Title
02 Cannibal Ferox Theme
03 Killing 2 Parrots
04 Into The Bush
05 Jungle Jive
06 Jaywalkin’ Iguana
07 Piranhas
08 NYC Brass

Side B

09 Kettle Of Doom
10 Mike Flips Out
11 NYC Aftermath
12 Man Hunting (Bonus Track)
13 Chase (Bonus Track)
14 On The Trail (Bonus Track)
15 Evil Rising (Bonus Track)”

As this is a Limited Edition release to the UK (200 units only) you can expect it to sell out quickly so don’t miss out.

It is is expected to release on 7th September 2018 but you can pre-order it here:


You can read our review of the film by clicking here:


Liked it? Take a second to support HORRORSCREAMS VIDEOVAULT on Patreon!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *